The League of Women Voters of Wake County has three active committees. An Immigration Committee may be formed in the near future as well as a Communications Committee.

  • Health Committee - The League is educating local business and government leaders about the good economic sense that Closing the Health Coverage Gap makes for North Carolina citizens.  Closing the health coverage gap is not a partisan issue, but a dollars and cents issue.  Closing the Gap creates jobs, boosts income for local communities and keeps our Federal tax dollars in North Carolina.  Our next meeting is on April 28 at 2 pm at the League office. Contact us to join in this effort (LRRomanow at ).

    The statewide campaign to raise awareness and get Medicaid expansion through our legislature is presently focusing on a postcard/letter writing campaign to the governor, influential senators and representatives and your own legislators.  Three folks in Chatham County have developed an easy-to-use  TEMPLATE  for writing your postcards, either electronically or by snail mail.  Find your own legislators' addresses  HERE .

  • LWV
  • Education Committee - The Education Committee meets monthly during the months of September, October, November, January, February, March and April.  During the past year members of the committee have observed almost all of the Wake County School Board meetings as well as attend committee meetings on disadvantaged students and school board advisory committees.  During the coming months the committee will be looking at the briefing papers on the federal role in education in order to take part in a consensus.  This study was adopted by the LWVUS at its convention in 2010.  You will find these background papers in pdf form by clicking here.

  • LWV
  • Voters Service - The Voters Service Committee will be busy with issues pertaining to this fall's elections, holding candidate forums during the month of September in preparation for the October election for school board candidates and for Raleigh and Cary mayors and city and town council members respectively.